How to utilize "search words" in AllPro

Need help? Please give a detailed explanation of your problem.
Post Reply
Steve173
Posts: 110
meble kuchenne Mikołów Knurów Czechowice-Dziedzice
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:55 pm
Website: www.realnoni.com

How to utilize "search words" in AllPro

Post by Steve173 »

Hi!

We've received a number of complaints from customers who are trying to use our "search" function on our website and the results from a search as far from helpful and relevant to what they are searching. How do we control this? Where in the AllPro console do we enter a list of words that a page should appear in for the built-in search function? A lady today made the point that for a well known brand like us that our website should be able to retrieve a basic search request with a list of relevant results for the customer....after performing a few searches myself I unfortunately totally agree...our search results are embarrassing.

For example if you type in "noni fruit leather" it brings some noni fruit leather content pages however it's all mixed in with the icyheat noni lotion pages, pages about albatross birds, it brings up sign up box pages for contests that are not even public any more etc.....

Second question is when you perform a search and then click on one of the results you cannot click back to go back to the list of search results if what you click on was not what you were expecting to see/find etc....it brings to to an error page with "ERR_CACHE_MISS"
website search .jpg
website search .jpg (308.93 KiB) Viewed 687 times
User avatar
Kathlein
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:03 am
Website: www.allprowebtools.com

Re: How to utilize "search words" in AllPro

Post by Kathlein »

If the search functionality provided by AllProWebTools is not meeting your needs, you can install other 3rd party search boxes by editing your "Header" File. You can access your Header from the main menu by selecting "Settings" and then clicking on "Administrator". In the "Theme Editor" you will see "Header". Click on this and find the section that looks like this:

Code: Select all

		    	<form class="navbar-form navbar-right" id="noni-search-form" role="search" action="/search.php" method="GET">
						<div id="search">
							<div class="inner">
								<div class="button-search" id="noni-search">
									<i class="fa fa-search"></i>
									<span>Search</span>
								</div>
								<input type="text" name="query" placeholder="" value="">
							</div>
						</div>
		      </form>


You can replace this code with another search box such as explained here: https://blog.expertrec.com/google-searc ... r-website/

There are many other search tools available, an internet search for "add google search bar to my website" should provide a substantial list of options.
Steve173
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 7:55 pm
Website: www.realnoni.com

Re: How to utilize "search words" in AllPro

Post by Steve173 »

Our question though is where in the console do we input the keywords for the AllProWebTool built-in search function to pull from? I'm pretty sure we have never done this which is probably why the search function is returning either no results or the most unrelated results possible...where do we look to see what's even been input?
User avatar
Kathlein
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:03 am
Website: www.allprowebtools.com

Re: How to utilize "search words" in AllPro

Post by Kathlein »

There is no place to insert keywords.
Lfrailey173
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:16 pm
Website: www.realnoni.com

Re: How to utilize "search words" in AllPro

Post by Lfrailey173 »

How do we at least find some of the very bizarre results that the search is pulling?

For example:
https://realnoni.com/Noni-Superfood-Hea ... fits-a693/

This is apparently a "version 2" of something and has part of our webpage graphic header but missing the toolbar and has some very randomly pieced together lines from one of our product pages? How do we find this and either delete or at least mark private so it has no way of ever displaying.

This page too: we've definitely never created this...is the console generating pages on it's own or where are these from?
https://realnoni.com/Beware-of-Supplements/

Why do some of the results have descriptions and other have none?
For example one result lists the words "noni fruit leather" twice on two lines but nothing else?
noni fruit leather double .jpg
noni fruit leather double .jpg (241.17 KiB) Viewed 677 times
For example this result ends up on our homepage but it has a description of #|imageslider| #
search result random.jpg
search result random.jpg (331.01 KiB) Viewed 677 times
Post Reply